Posted by: Ramesha JS | January 19, 2009

Nedungunam Yoga Ramar Temple


I had visited this temple last year after visting the Avaniyapuram Narashimha temple. This is one of the biggest and ancient temple near Vandavasi. It has a very tall gopuram entrance and a small gopuram inside prakaram,  again a big prakaram, pillers with carvings of various deities, small hanuman sannidi, beautiful mandapam…A rare Sri Ramar temple with Rama sitting in yoga position. Gigantic Dwarapalakas are amazing to see  the beauty of statuette . 

NEDUNGUNAM YOGA RAMAR TEMPLE

Click here to see the snaps 

Article in Hindu by Sri . R. S. RAGHAVAN

 After Vibhishana Pattabhishekam in Sri Lanka, Rama is returning to Ayodhya along with Sita, Lakshmana, Hanuman and other varanas. He notices on the banks of the Kaliyar, Sukha Brahman, a saint in the form of a parrot, offering prayers to Him. The Lord alights from His chariot and just stands before the saint whose joy knows no bounds. The place where Sri Rama blessed the saint came to be known as Nedungunam, meaning noble quality. Although He was in a hurry to go to Ayodhya to save Bharata, Rama did not fail to pay heed to the prayers of a devotee.

Inside the temple Garuda and dwarapalakas reflect artistic excellence. In the sanctum santorum, we are greeted by Lord Rama in sitting position with chin mudra, Sita on his left which is a unique feature. Without His much celebrated Kothandam, He is santha murthi, a rare form. To his right stands Sri Lakshmana. Here Rama assumes the role of Guru, as Anjaneya the greatest devotee is seated listening to his Lord in rapt attention. Here Rama is known as Vijaya Raghavan, thereby signifying Rama’s victory over Ravana. The utsava murtis (two) are holding chakra and conch in their upper hands with the lower right hand showing the abhaya mudra.

s63045721

 

Vaikanasa the preceptor of Vaikanasa agama is seen with four disciples in a corner. There are two idols of Anjaneya one of which was found in a nearby hill.

Travel information.

Nedungunam is located between Vandavasi to polur road.  Direct buses from Chennai available or reach Vandavasi and catch the bus towards Polur and getdown at 25th Km and  from Chennai its 140th Km.  Bus route from chennai 104 (i think Polur) and 148 Chennai to Vandavasi from CMBT or Tambaram.

Photos & Writeup © Ramesha J S

s6304593


Responses

  1. nedugunam is my native place.I proud to see our temple in website and please publish natural scenaries of our village so that everyone will get inspried.no more words to say .our village looks beautiful but i am in chennai. i really missed village.VARIOUS SPECILITY are:
    1.great ramar temple
    2.nearby sivan temple(opp.to my house)
    3.beautiful hills around the village
    4.I used to climb the hill every karthigai thibam
    5.hill is nearly1.6 kmheight greater than thiruvannamalai hill
    6.more than two lakes.
    7.one big pond near school
    8.next to pond hill starts
    9.temple is more than 4acres.
    10.It is one of the ancient temple
    please come visit and enjoy the beauty of my village more and more things are there to visit.
    MY ADDRESS:
    C.KANNIYAPPAN
    F/O K.RAMACHANDRAN
    F/O R.VELU(me)
    house is opp. tosivan temple
    placed in near main road
    raja vaduku street.
    nedungunam.

  2. I’ve been looking for a while for any good content articles in relation to this particular level . Looking out in Yahoo and google I lastly found out this url. After studying this submit I am delighted to say that I get an exquisite uncanny feeling I stumbled upon the very issues I used to be looking for. I most actually will make certain to don’t neglect this weblog and have a look consistently.

  3. hai i am gopinath 9677047487 nan un nanbenda

  4. i am very happy

  5. Sir, really great effort to explore such a beautiful village to the public. Thanks for your initiatives.

    Samuel

    Hello everyone please watch few photos from Nedungunam Hill top using my facebook samdpt@gmail.com

  6. I’m new to your blog and i really appreciate the nice posts and great layout.`.`”-

  7. I will invite all my friends to your blog, you really got a great blog.*:”‘”

  8. I always visit your blog everyday to read new topics.”.~,.

  9. Hi, do you have a facebook fan page for your blog?~’~-;

  10. My friend first found your blog on Google and she referred your blog to me.-*’`~

  11. I would really love to guest post on your blog.*:`*.

  12. I just put the link of your blog on my Facebook Wall. very nice blog indeed.:*”~~

  13. I am very happy … .. .. .i proud to see my native on website… ..

  14. I am from nedungunam,

    I am very happy to see my native place in website and my native place beautiful create in website.
    Thanks for all press and medias.
    (S/O.G.Janarathanan,West raja street,Nedungunam)

  15. I am from Nedungunam ,
    I am very happy to see my native place go through by website .
    Thanks for press and medias people. (S/O.G.Janarthanan,west raja street,Nedungunam)

  16. Hi,
    I am proud to say that i belongs to this village who lives just next to temple compound.
    Many thanks for your efforts and interest, hope my thanks giving would make your interest meaningful.

  17. Hai, i am dhiva from nedungunam. thank for ramesh ,beacuase he only popular our native place………..

  18. I am very happy to see my native place in website, thanks to provide a information with images about my native place.
    This is a great chance to show about my native place to my friends. I am working in dubai now.(P.Vijayakumar S/o.R.Perumal, Cycle shop, Nedungunam).

  19. Couldn?t be written any better. Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  20. hi see here my native place (vino (bca) iac college)

  21. hi this is beautyful village pleas see here thank you vino(sivan koil st no232,)

  22. hai i am vino my native place on nedungunam it is very beautyful village (vinoth,no 232 sivankoil street,nedungunam)

  23. i like temple sivan very much!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. THANKS TO RAMESHA J S. THIS IS MY HOME CITY. WELL DETIALS AND PURE IMAGES. AND OTHERS. PLEASE DEVELOP IT. THANKS TO EVERY ONE. BY KAVIARASU

  25. ACTUALLY THIS IS MY HOME CITY. I AM PROUD OF THIS MEGES AND PLACE DETAILS
    PLEASE DEVELOP THIS.

  26. I am KAVIARASAN.M actually this is my home city. really a im very happy and very proud my place. images also extradnery and matters also very intelligent. thank you so much. and pls develope this place.

  27. my native place is polur (rendaripattu vill)
    i am very amazing to see this website.so i am very happy

  28. iam vey happyyyyyyyyyy to m e native place my place is such a good place where is nature presentsd

  29. iam very happy to my place

  30. Thanks for giving us pictures about Nedungunam.Its our kula deivam temple.Been there only twice.Really want to go again.Dunno.
    Pictures are of grt help.Have u got temple’s ph. no by any means.
    Thanks.

  31. Nedungunam very good plece

  32. i am from nedungunam,116,north mada st.

  33. good photos,beatiful temple

  34. I am from Nedungunam.

    I am very Happy and Proud to see my native in website. Were ever we go we can say that our Native place is been displayed in website.

    I am working in Mafoi Management Consultant Ltd.
    in Chennai. pls add some more picture.

  35. thank you very much can i see that way of our native. keep on touch with me

  36. i am very glad to see our native . i belongs to nedungunam. i thing who are you. i am doing MCA annauniversity

  37. my native place is Nedungunam
    i am very amazing to see this website.so i am very happy


Leave a Reply

Categories

