Posted by: Ramesha JS | October 7, 2008

Yelagiri Hills travelogue


It’s a solo journey this weekend towards Yelagiri Hills an untouched purity of nature. Just a day full off from the external world, No phone, SMS, tension etc, etc.

 Early Morning at Jolarpet Junction and on the way to Yelagiri.

Before I continue let me tell few words. 

  • If you are planning to visit Yelagiri for fun, smoke and booze please don’t go and spoil the nature. (Please dont mind)
  • It’s for Nature lovers, Trekkers and just for relax- relax- relax even being in a four corner you can feel.
  • There is no big thing here; Government and district administration just started ABCD on the development part.
  • Fruit farm at Nilavur nothing but few trees of Sitapala, Mango, Guava, Coffee plant and others, but can get many things for photography.
  • Boat house and park at Atnavur is well maintained. You can take a good landscape photo in early morning and late evening. One full round you can come around the lake about a Kilometer.
  • The best part of Yelagiri is NATURE PARK. Created by District administration Vellore. Just for this stay a night here. Beautiful garden, artificial falls, so many fountains (looks fantastic in night after they switch on the lights), A well maintained and placed aquarium, and not least the center stage of the park Music Fountain.

 

A fast track journey on Friday night from Chennai to Jolarpet junction by Bangalore express, at 11.30 PM and reached junction at 3.30Am. I had to wait till 5.30am as the first bus towards Yelagiri from Jolarpet. Had rest at Waiting room in station and by 5 am had a sip of chai and walked towards busstand. Wait! There is no bus stand. Jolarpet is familiar for the Railway junction otherwise it’s just a village. Off by pass road Vaniyambadi-Tirupattur main road. On the roadside already many people are waiting for the bus to various destinations. Bus was late and at last came by 6am. But in fact it is the correct time. It leaves from Thirupattur by 5.45am and reaches junction by 6 am. Reached top hill by 7 am. It is just 14 kms up hill from junction called Ponneri.  I had already Enquire about the hotel few months’ back when planned and paid the advanced also. I told him to retain the amount with him and settle when I come there. Well after three months it materialized. By 7am I get down at the village called Athnavur. Acutely Yelagiri comprises of 12 villages and the mains are Athanvur – Nilavur – Mangalam. Hotel Ashok was ready for me with a room. Confirmed with service boy that I am in right place. After the wash-up I didn’t make mind for relax as the weather and the Kuruvi the Sparrow bird’s song are tempting me to get out of the room. It’s almost long time I have seen this small creature in Chennai or in any cities. My camera was not enough to catch them. At this time room service Raja told sir sudu tanni ready sir… There was a big vessel kept on three stones boiling along the flames of wooden logs.
 For Photo Album Please click here—↑

Yelagiri Hills

 Earlier with my CPC friends planned Yelagiri for three point agenda. At YMCA (Mangalam village) Bird Photography, Lake at Atnavur Macro photography and Government Fruits park at Nilavur macro photography on fruits and flowers. Due to time and transport not able to visit the Mangalam village.

 As alone the rule what I made. First I visited the owner of the hotel and told I had check in. He runs a small grocery shop in front of his hotel. There are many hotels in Athnavur but I felt this is the best, simple, neat and secured one. Opposite to Atnavur busstand. Able to accommodate single and in large group in a single room if needed.

Started the day by visiting the boathouse, on the way around a km a well-laid footpath full of flowers added more beauty with morning mist playing with sunrays here and there. On the roadside lots of various flowers in bushes, Varity and color full that’s nature creativity. Just I manage some of them with my camera.

 In the main road towards down hill take left opposite to Nature Park, walk till dead end. A garden and artificial lake is made to entertain you. Enjoyed the morning inside the park. Lake was already in love with sun, showing her happiness by reflecting his rays, swinging along the water, with the back drop mist filled mountains, Reddish muddy lands…. Wow what a beauty. While studying I used to sit some classes with the English optional students. Any way the intention was different. Just to mention a poem written by romantic poet William Wordsworth here… 

‘Daffodils’ a poem by William Wordsworth(‘DAFFODILS ‘any of numerous varieties of Narcissus plants having showy often yellow flowers with a trumpet-shaped central crown)

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

 

Continuous as the stars that shine
and twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

 

The waves beside them danced, but they
Out-did the sparkling leaves in glee;

A poet could not be but gay,
In such a jocund company!
I gazed-and gazed-but little thought
what wealth the show to me had brought

 

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

 

           ←§§§→ 

I was told that Bus was at 9am for Nilavur and hence returned from Boathouse to main road. I saw the Jackfruit tree on the roadside with hanging fruits at reachable height. My next point is Nilavur fruit farm. After getting onto the bus I didn’t ask conductor to drop at Fruit farm, I thought it is in Nilavur only. After passing a kilometer doubtfully asked him and to shock he told it already passed and dropped me in the middle. Ok any way weather was so pleasant and started upwards by walk enjoying the nature beauty. When I tried to capture the beauty, alas my camera suddenly caught in problem and all of a sudden I went blank. I tried all the options and felt very sad that I couldn’t capture the moments. At that time I remembered my VGA camera phone and decided to capture irrespective of clarity. Reached  Fruit house “Panchayath Fruit House” a big board is there. Its look likes a small farmhouse or a private property. After informing the caretaker he told this is still in development and you can see it. Inside a Polithine covered big room they are cultivating the various flowers and fruits. Just roamed around the mango, Guava, Sitapala trees, took snaps with VGA camera itself.
Below snaps are taken from cell phone VGA camera.

 

 Next in continuation of journey on the right hand side there you find a big billboard mentioning the way for Murugan Temple. It is on the small hillock with few steps around 50 or less. Lord Vinayaka, Subramanya shrines are located either side and a Navagraha also installed. You can have a good look of Atnavur from this small hillock. At this time rain started and stopped after few minutes. Even if it shines you can feel the chilliness.

 From there I came to room back it was just 12.00pm. Without the camera I feel I missed many things to capture. Because that was my purpose. By this time I had walked from Nilavur to Athnavur around 4 to 5 kms and felt stress and make my mind to have rest for a while and to get up by 1pm for lunch. Alas I wake up and the time was already 4pm. Under the warmness of blanket and chilled weather outside I was totally out of order. After freshing up tried the luck on camera, found it was working when flash fired. With some hope left out for finding lunch and at Hotel Yelagiri I was the last customer to order the lunch.

 After lunch I was back at Boathouse to have the feast of evening. The same story with different angle. This time heavy crowd thronged the park and totally mess. Rounded half the way of the tank and returned back to boat house jetty. Spent some time and by 5.30pm left for the final show at Nature Park.

 

As I said it is the only prime attraction as of now. After paying the entry fee he will give access card instead of ticket. You have to drop at the sliding door to enter in. It is well constructed and will be more beautiful if its litter free. Aquarium is awesome and attractive. After roaming around the park went to the ticket counter of music fountain. The show started by 7pm and last around 7.45pm with 5 to 6 songs and beautiful dance by colorful fountains reverberating to the songs and splashing the water around and springing highly along the tunes. Worth paying and visiting, a well made and hope they make more attractive in coming days.

 Oppsss at last the day came to end. Returned to room back, went outside and had the dinner. Raja told morning 5.15am the first bus. Had a nice sleep knowing that never will have this kind of sleep back in Chennai, without mood no other way getup at early morning and said adieu to Yelagiri.

                        Travel Information.

It is a 3hr journey by train from Chennai to Jolarpet. Fix the time according to your needs. Whole day lots of trains passes via Jolarpet.

 If planning for a weekend, previous night take train at 11.30 or next is at 11.55(may late always) at Jolarpet 3.30am. Just relax at waiting room. Morning 6am first bus to Yelagiri, this comes from Tirupattur. If you have own vehicle on the way to hilltop in between u can see a telescope house and enjoy the mountain and plain views. Bus reaches Athnavur by 7am and choose your destination as per your needs. If for trekking get down at Mangalam probably it may the last stop. Route No.253 and 254 Govt. Bus and Varalakshmi Pvt. Bus.

While returning form Yelagir early morning 5.15am first bus reaches Jolarpet junction by 6am. At 6.30 you can catch the Howrah express and will reach chennai by 9.30 – 45am.

From Chennai 102B Chennai – Thirupattur goes to Jolarpet from CMBT. You can get down at Ponneri junction also. That is the base of the hill.

 

Travel date From chennai 03.10.2008 mid night – 04.10.2008 whole day – 05.10.2008 afternoon back to Chennai

 -Ramesha JS

 


Responses

  1. I sort of discovered your website accidentally, but your blog caught my attention so i thought that I might post to tell you that I like it.

  2. awesome!!!
    it was useful for my project!!!!!

  3. I would personally like to thank you so much for the time you have taken in producing this blog post.

  4. hey there and thanks for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did then again expertise some technical points the usage of this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many instances prior to I may get it to load properly. I have been thinking about if your hosting is OK? No longer that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances occasions will very frequently affect your placement in google and can harm your quality score if ads and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Well I am including this RSS to my email and could glance out for a lot extra of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you replace this again very soon..

  5. Well, Great blog, I can’t wait to bookmark it. I messed up my bookmarks and couldn’t wait to find it again. Had to look through my web history…forever’ish. I am so excited I wanted to tell somebody.

  6. Hi my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include almost all important infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

  7. I am sure everybody love unfastened review. I wonder if I am for your overview ?

  8. Hi and thank you for submitting this. This resolved quite a lot of inquiries in which I’d.

  9. proud of it

  10. Hi Ramesh,
    It was really great experience reading your article. I had my HighSchool Education at Jolarpet and I visited Yelagiri Hills during the year1975-76. I remember there is a Church and a Polish Priest was there that time. Those days everone respect the values of all religion.No politics . That time I was 15, and I used to run to say VANAKKAM to the Church FATHER! Those days will never come again. Now I have been employed in Kuwait since 1987, having everything but still I miss the Natures’s beauti. I remember, When I was at Melpatti my classmates, friends used to invite me to their villages and Thoppu where I used to have “Karumbu JUICE”. If you feel, please keep in touch so that we can share more informations.Thanks a lot ..God bless you.Regards

  11. Sir,
    This “Yelagiri Hills travelogue” is very nice.
    Thank You very much for giving me a very plesent experience,
    While reading this i fell as if i went to these spots and enjoyed the beauties of nature along with you.

    And once thank you for recalling the sweat memories with the beautiful poem
    ‘Daffodils’ a poem by William Wordsworth

    i think he is a man like you who loves and admire nature.
    You are not only a travelist but also a good writer too.

    Let your journey cont… Sir

    R.K. Sriram

  12. Hi Ramesh your Blog has been Great I have been closely following it the Posts and Pictures are Good I saw that Yelagiri Stuff it was really cool.So where are you from??

  13. […] Digital photography by Ramesha JS […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

